Jeff Pheffer's calling in life is to deliver justice to Californians injured by the negligence of others.

Office building where Pheffer Law is located

New driving laws in California for 2019

On Behalf of | Dec 31, 2018 | Auto Accidents

As residents in California prepare to ring in another new calendar year, many new laws are set to go into effect after the clock strikes midnight on New Year’s Eve. Several of the state’s new laws will impact drivers, passengers, motorcyclists and pedestrians throughout the state.

Many of the laws are designed to help keep innocent people safe from unnecessary harm caused by negligent drivers. One of these laws is State Bill 1046 which mandates the installation and use of an ignition interlock device for at least one full year for any person convicted of a second or subsequent drunk driving offense.

A person who is convicted of a first offense may also be required to use an IID if they were responsible for any injuries. Depending on the case, a person may need to use an IID for up to four years. A few counties in the state had enacted the law regarding ignition interlock devices but it will become a statewide regulation starting January 1, 2019.

Another law set to take effect interestingly may seem to expose people to harm as it removes the requirement that riders on motorized scooters wear helmets. These scooters may be ridden sans head protection on any roadway with a designated lane for them. If no such lane exists, they may ride on roads with speed limits of 35 miles per hour or less. They may also ride on any highway with a speed limit of 25 miles per hour or less. Drivers sharing the road with scooters will want to take care to avoid collisions with a scooter rider.